anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

And it begins…

Leave a comment

I received the ARDX Experimenter’s Kit I ordered earlier, along with five ThingM MinM smart LEDs last night. I did a little hacking, and wrote a 25-line program that talks to a MinM over the I2C network and sends it periodic commands to fade to a random color.



The kit is quite well-done. It’s got a bunch of components for various projects. I’ll probably be mostly concentrating on seeing what I can do with networked MinMs first though.

Tonight I will write a program that I can use to program the addresses into the five LEDs I have. I will need to tag them somehow because ultimately each location on my body will have a specific address, and I need to keep the addresses that are (invisibly) assigned to a given LED straight. Fortunately I can also easily write a program to obtain the address already assigned to an LED.

Yesterday I also had a revelation about how to construct the wiring harness, given that there is no such thing as a single-row IDC socket. I will use two row IDC sockets, on eight conductor wire, instead. I just won’t be using half the conductors. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it earler. So this morning I bought enough parts to build a prototype “leg” bus with five MinMs on it. I hope to have a video of that working by the end of the weekend.

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

Leave a Reply

