anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

Put a fork in it…

2 Comments

…because the electronics are done. Just now I put the final touch on the box that contains the controlling computer. I added a jumper that lets me switch the LED buss power between the huge dedicated I2C batteries and USB power. The latter is handy for when I’m working on the software – typically I have the computer plugged into USB (there’s a hole in the left side of the box for that), and I don’t want to run the LEDs off the batteries all that time, so the jumper is great.

You can’t believe how tedious it was to build that red protoboard that’s attached to the top of the Arduino Mega microcontroller. For every wire on top, there’s probably two underneath. There’s just SO much packed in there. If (when?) I revise anthrolume to have the display and control options I originally envisioned, I’ll probably go to a bigger computer box, or multiple boxes.

But the good news is that this box of electronics is, for now, completely done. Burning Man here I come!

Final Electronics

The finalized computer and battery boxes

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

2 thoughts on “Put a fork in it…

  1. Congrats. I can’t wait to see this thing in person. Any plans to wear it in to work one day?

  2. I could definitely bring it in!

Leave a Reply

