anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

Back LEDs positioned, Bluetooth working

Leave a comment

Suit with back LEDs positioned

Suit with back LEDs positioned (note that the suit is inside out in this photo)

I had a productive weekend hacking on the suit. I positioned the 49 LEDs that are on the back of the suit in a 7 x 7 grid. I’m getting pretty excited to get the positions all finalized because I want to wire the suit together and actually get all 250 of them running mounted in their actual spots.

I also successfully integrated a Sparkfun Bluetooth Mate Gold into the prototype suit electronics and after some programming was able to control the suit wirelessly from a laptop. That’s a temporary test setup – I acquired a used HTC Dream (T*Mobile G1) Android phone, and I’m writing a remote control program for it. That’ll be my user interface for more complicated operations such as entering text that scrolls across my back and chest or putting myself into “flashlight mode.” I will still have the simple handheld keypad that I had last time for tapping in the beats and doing more basic animation control.

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

Leave a Reply

