anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

Soldering irons. How do they work?

Leave a comment

I’ve been soldering things since I was in junior high school, and…that was a long time ago. I’m good at it. I haven’t had a soldering injury for fifteen years. But when you do most of your soldering between midnight and 2am, you’re bound to make a mistake sooner or later.

So allow me to summarize the advantages and disadvantages of getting intimate with your soldering iron:

Advantages Disadvantages
Wound is sterile due to high temperature. Disconcerting burned-human-flesh smell.
Wound doesn’t bleed due to instant cauterization. Hurts like a motherf****r.
Leaves a mark.

So given all that, I’m going to have to go out on a limb and officially not recommend stabbing oneself with a precision 18W soldering iron as I did last night. The more you know.

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

Leave a Reply

