anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

All LEDs mounted

1 Comment

Front of suit

The suit with all LEDs permanently mounted.

Over the weekend I finished mounting the LEDs. The physical fabrication is mostly complete except for a few niggles: I have two LEDs whose blue channels are intermittent, so I’ll have to cut those out and replace them, but I can do that later. Also the pockets are blocked by wires inside the suit, so I will probably add some wire extensions inside the suit so I can still use the pockets. I had to cut the zipper out of the suit, which I’ll replace with iron-on Velcro. Finally I need to cut some little “U”s into the zipper flap so the middle column of chest LEDs is visible.

I’m running out of time, so I’m coding furiously on the animation software. I finished the “PointCollector” program that I used to establish Cartesian coordinates for all the LEDs and now I’m working on the “Animaker” software that uses those coordinates to sample video, animation, and other motion media. Video demos as soon as I have something good.

Final thought: If Elvis had this suit, he would have been way more popular, and possibly motivated to eat less bacon.

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

One thought on “All LEDs mounted

  1. That is FUCKING AWESOME!!! I hope you don’t mind but I’m pretty much following your lead/direction on the suit building. I think its a great design. So EXCITED!!

Leave a Reply

