anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

Burning Man debut just days away!

7 Comments

I’ve gone dark since my first animation demo because I’ve been pouring nearly every waking hour into either the software components of the suit or preparing animations for the suit using my Animaker software.

I shipped the physical Anthrolume 2.0 suit to Berkeley a couple of weeks ago, before I headed off to Bora Bora for a vacation. During the time I was on that beautiful island (when I wasn’t snorkeling, swimming, sunning, etc.) I created about 115 animations. I also made signficant improvements to my Animaker software.

Animaker in action

Animaker in action

On the top left is a Flash animation I created using a relatively inexpensive but quite powerful Flash animation package called SWiSH (no affiliation). The red circles represent the points at which the software will sample the video to create the animation. On the right is one frame of the animation that was sampled from the Flash movie. I put the output files from Animaker onto a micro-SD card that plugs into the Arduino Mega microcontroller on the Anthrolume suit’s belt. That computer plays back the animation frames into the LEDs of the suit.

I will continue to make new animations even while I’m on the playa at Burning Man. I’ve got a Flip video camera with me so I’ll have quality video this time, not just of me, but of my entire whack Prismaticamp crew, when I return from the Burn.

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

7 thoughts on “Burning Man debut just days away!

  1. Bryan, the suit was amazing on the playa! We had chatted a bunch right after the man burned…amazing job!

  2. Thanks for telling me about that. Actually the Teensy++ 2.0 would probably work for me. I’m using a Mega right now because my code compiles to > 60K, and I’m using about 6K of RAM. The only thing that might give me trouble is UARTs – I’m using two UARTS, one for XBee, and one for Bluetooth. I’d have to test to make sure SoftwareSerial worked well enough since there’s only one hardware UART on the Teensy++ 2.0.

  3. Firstly, I saw you on our stage on tuesday of the Burn (Ooligan Alley) when i dribbled all over your suit, so apologies for that :).

    Do you have any plans to release your Animaker Software? I have a bunch of WS2801 based pixels that I have been meaning to write something like this for but if you are planing on releasing this open source or for a reasonable price then I would love to get hold of a copy.

    Thanks

    Buster

    • It’s kind of a custom tool. It takes XML points files that are generated by a different (really barely adequate) program called PointCollector that is not at all ready for prime time. And for output, it generates binary .ani files, which are a format I invented and my suit consumes. Animaker is fairly robust, but like any tool tool written for the author, I tend to sidestep bugs that don’t seem important enough to fix. I have no intention of selling the thing though. Contact me and we can work something out. 🙂

  4. I’d like to second the request for a release of the Animaker! I made a similar costume this year for Burning Man (though, admittedly, not nearly as cool) using 100 Cool Neon lights on a pure white zoot suit. Though I got a lot of positive feedback, my programming skills are crude at best and so were my light sequences. I would love to have a tool like this to make something really flashy and neat.

Leave a Reply

