anthrolume

Experiments in wearable electronic art.

Commitment

Leave a comment

Guide circles

Guide circles

I’m getting ready to burn the holes into the trench for the LEDs. When I burned my test hole in the hood I learned that once I burned out the center “+” mark, it was hard to keep track of the center while widening the hole. Also it was easy to make the holes too big. As a result I decided, somewhat casually, to draw 7/16″ guide circles, using a metal washer as a template, around all the LED locations on the trench.

It wasn’t long before I realized that I was about to make a two-hour commitment, because I was going to have to draw 1,000 circles. In a sense, the trench project is a commitment amplifier. All decisions get multiplied by 1,000. And that means no decision is really trivial.

When I finished drawing all those circles (and using up 2/3 of a white Nonce fabric marking pencil in the process), I realized how much commitment and dedication this project, and all my art projects, require. It is part of the sacrifice that the artist makes in the creation of art. Moreover, the commitment put into all works of art is so easy to overlook. When you look at a piece of art – even one you don’t like – remember how much sacrifice the artist needed to put into that piece. It will help you appreciate art, and your own work, even more.

Author: anthrolume

I'm a Seattle musician and experimental electronic artist.

Leave a Reply

